Audiobook Review: Thinking With My Feet by Kate Humble read by author

A book which captures Kate Humble’s year of walks /runs through both the area local to her home and abroad. A book which is delightfully slow reflecting on the simple joy of observing the ever changing environment depending upon the season. Kate reflects upon how same routes can illicit different feelings, emotions and memories depending upon the season / time and her own state of mind. A book which encourages the reader to slow their journey and to use this time to live within the moment – a simple form of mindfulness.

I felt that throughout the audiobook Kate spoke with such passion and joy which was compelling and motivating. I am already someone who enjoys being outside and experiencing nature that I needed very little encouragement from Kate, however listening to this audiobook left me more aware that often we can become caught up in our own heads and problems and not notice the environment around us.

I run a lot both with earphones listening to either music or audiobooks but I’m equally happy running without and I have found that it is often when there is no distractions that I can be fully present and feel that sense of relief and calmness that being outside running can give. I have noticed that I almost never have any earphones on when walking and will use this time for my own mental well-being.

Overall I found this to be lovely and hugely enjoyable audiobook which felt like a warm hug on a cold day and one I would recommend.

Leave a comment