Weekly diary up to 19th April

It sometimes feels a bit surprising that life continues even with all the restrictions placed on us. I’m fully aware that I’m in a lucky and privileged situation by being able to work from home. I’m finding more that I miss just being around people, the act of being in a crowd even if I don’t know anyone. I also miss drinking coffee that I haven’t made, although I guess this has limited the amount of money I spend on thoughtless items. I have also found that by spending so much time at home I really notice how it looks and I spent much of Saturday deep cleaning the flat, so a well spent day!

The last week has been a good one for reading and I have enjoyed each book. I also have finally admitted defeat with one book I have been trying to read – despite trying different formats I still can’t get into it and lack any motivation to force myself so it is now officially DNF. Very rare for me as I normally just keep going.

Reading next week:

Audiobook: What seems to be the problem? Adam Kay and Mark Watson. 

I’m about two thirds through this audiobook and have found myself laughing and wincing in equal measures.

Audiobook: Dead Mans Folly by Agatha Christie read by David Suchet

Another Hercule Poirot book to add to my read list

Did you see Melody? by Sophie Hannah

I have loved many of her books so I’m looking forward to cracking this one open.

My writing

While I have found some more momentum and motivation to write some of my backlog of reviews, any creative writing seems to have declined. I know that I work best with a plan and struggle if left to ‘just write’. I wonder if I’m also struggling because my writing space has also become my work space. Something for me to ponder, maybe. 

A nesting swan seen on my walk.

Leave a comment